vince carter
Home » Blog » Vince Carter, Chauncey Billups headline NBA class of Hall of Fame finalists

Vince Carter, Chauncey Billups headline NBA class of Hall of Fame finalists

As the NBA heads into the 2024 All-Star break, the league has announced its class of finalists for this year.

The group is led by Vince Carter, Chauncey Billups, and Seimone Augustus, among others. Carter spoke of his great appreciation for moving a step closer toward earning an illustrious career honor.

“Unbelievable,” said Carter, considered one of the greatest slam dunk showmen ever to grace the hardwood via ESPN. “I loved to play, more than anything. It wasn’t about the numbers. I was asked probably five years prior to retiring, ‘Why are you still playing? You’re killing your average.’ And I said, ‘But I still love to play.’ And that’s what mattered.”

Carter put together an impressive career that spanned 22 seasons where he recorded more than 25,00 points, earned eight All-Star selections, was selected to two All-NBA teams (second and third), won the Rookie of the Year award, and captured a Slam Dunk contest.

Want $250 to bet on NBA futures?

Sign up here!

During his prime, Carter was regarded as one of the league’s most entertaining players. He was an explosive offensive talent led by his athleticism and scoring ability.

Billups voiced much appreciation for moving a step closer to being enshrined in the Naismith Hall of Fame.

“Everybody that enters the NBA … it’s their dream,” Billups told ESPN. “It’s basically basketball heaven to be in the Hall of Fame.

“That was never my goal when I was playing. I just wanted to try to win and be the best teammate I could be. … I’m just humbled by today. Just being close to it is an honor. I know I’m not there, but I’m closer. It’s a straight honor.”

Billups put together a solid resume with winning the 2004 NBA title, Final MVP award, five All-Star game selections, and two All-Defensive Team nods.

After the voting process happens, the NBA will hold a ceremony on Aug. 17 to inductee this year’s Hall of Fame class.

  • 100%