Tagovailoa, Haskins and Murray Named Heisman Trophy Finalists

By David A.

In New York later this week Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray and Dwayne Haskins will face off to see which of the three quarterbacks wins the 2018 Heisman Trophy.

The award will go to either Alabama’s Tagovailoa, Oklahoma’s Murray or Ohio State’s Haskins on Saturday at 8 p.m. ET.

Tagovailoa and Murray led their respective teams to a place in the College Football Playoff. As a result, they’ll face off against one another on December 29 at the Capital One Orange Bowl. Then, the fourth seeded Sooners led by Murray play the top seeded Crimson Tide led by Tagovailoa.

The two will be the co-favorites in Manhattan on Saturday night.


Want $250 to bet on Heisman Trophy futures?

Sign up here!


If Murray were to win, Oklahoma would become the first school in the history of the coveted award in which quarterbacks from the same school would win back to back Heisman’s as the Sooners’ Baker Mayfield won the award last season.

Three other schools – USC in 2004 and 2005, Army in 1945 and 1946 and Yale in 1936 and 1937 – had back to back winners but not two straight quarterbacks.

The only player to win two Heisman Trophy’s is former Ohio State running back Archie Griffin in 1974 and 1975.


Read: NFL Week 14 Lines and Analysis


Murray said following this season he would give up playing football and join the Oakland A’s. They drafted him ninth overall in this past summer’s MLB draft.

Murray is hoping to be the seventh Sooner to win the coveted Heisman and the fourth Oklahoma quarterback since 2003. Tagovailoa would become the first-ever quarterback from Alabama to win the Heisman if he wins on Saturday.

The two prior winners at Alabama Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry both were running backs and both also played for current coach Nick Saban.

Tagovailoa has been the odds on favorite all season, but struggled in last weekend’s SEC championship before leaving with an injured ankle and his backup Jalen Hurts rallied the Crimson Tide to a 35-28 victory during the fourth quarter over Georgia to clinch Alabama’s place in the College Football Playoff.