Patrick Mahomes Favored to Win Second Straight NFL MVP

Patrick Mahomes was the runaway winner of the 2018 NFL MVP Award. As a result, oddsmakers believe the Kansas City Chiefs star quarterback will win the award for a second straight season.

Patrick Mahomes is favored on most sportsbooks at +500 to win the most prestigious individual award in the NFL. Following the Kansas City signal caller is Carson Wentz +900, Aaron Rodgers+1200 and Baker Mayfield +1200. Drew Brees and Tom Brady are +1400 to round out the top five.

Mahomes was drafted by Kansas City in 2017 with the No. 10 pick in the first round and was Alex Smith’s understudy his first season. However, he took over as starter in 2018 finishing with 5,097 yards passing, 50 touchdowns and 12 interceptions.


Want $250 to bet on NFL Week 1?

Sign up here!


The odds are stacked against the Chiefs signal caller as only four players have ever won back-to-back NFL MVP awards with the most recent Peyton Manning in 2008 and 2009.

Carson Wentz is now the sole owner of the Philadelphia Eagles quarterback job after Nick Foles left via free agency. Wentz was selected No. 2 overall in the 2016 draft and although he has impressive numbers during his career, staying healthy has been a concern.


Read: Rob Gronkowski Sounds Like Patriots Return is Unlikely


If Wentz remains healthy all season, he has an array of worthy targets to throw to. Receivers DeSean Jackson, Alshon Jefferr, Zach Ertz, Dallas Goedert and Nelson Agholor all stand to benefit.

Veterans Aaron Rodgers (2011 NFL MVP) and Drew Brees are always on the minds of football pundits when it comes to the MVP award. Rodgers is expected to lead an improved Packers team under a new head coach, while Brees and his Saints’ teammates are expected to battle again for the NFC crown. Both will be high up on the ballots for the MVP award at season’s end.

  • 100%